Change

April 8, 2011 § Leave a comment

I have 25 minutes to write something. More like 15: my hair colour is developing. Perhaps unevenly.

The ground keeps shifting. At 19C, the weather is unseasonable, my hunger is changed with the seasons, the light warms my skin and exposes the pallor and excesses of it that I’ve been hiding.

These first few days of real spring. Girls all around in shorts and dresses. I can see that they all look as they should. No one turns my stomach the way my own reflection does.

I try not to look too hard so that I don’t get consumed thinking about it. I forgive, I let go. I have an ice cream.

I catch a glimpse, I want to change again.

Because I can’t change any of that overnight, I’ll change my hair colour in 25 minutes.

Time’s up.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Change at fluorescent.

meta

