The Sanity Run

June 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

This morning I woke up with great plans for my last day to myself this week.  Uni work, yoga class and a trip to buy a wedding present. It should have been easy. But apparently something in me didn’t want to take all that on today.

I tried a new breakfast and used soya milk as well as water in my porridge, as well as a topping of flax-seed, blueberries and a dash of honey.

It was great, but I’ll admit I was scared. The way I start is a good indication of how the rest of my day is going to go and yes, I was scared of this bowl. I don’t deal too well with uncertainty and in all honesty, this felt like such an unknown. In terms of content and quantity, I didn’t know how it was going to go down. It really was delicious but the uncertainty threw me. I got the Fear about my work, about how I was going to eat and, in all honesty, looking for wedding-y gifts isn’t really my style.

Still, I recognised that this was a funk waiting to happen and, jobs done as best as possible, I did what I knew I needed, skipped the yoga and went for a Sanity Run.

There are days when I don’t particularly feel like running but want some cardio and I do it anyway. Or I get on my bike. Then there are the days when only a run will do. Yoga usually calms me into submission but today I wanted to expel the frustration I couldn’t account for. Sweat out my worries. Remind myself of what I can work towards. Set out alone.

My running style is minimal. I set out with a rough idea of how far my route is, my keys and my iPod. That’s it. I have very few expectations (more on that later) other than covering the pre-determined distance. So that’s what I did. I’m not sure how long it took me to finish my 5k-ish trot and it hurt a little because I’m still getting used to running again, but suddenly I was sane again. Something about the sweat, disappearing without distraction and moving my body clears out my brain every time I run. But there are days like today when it really just makes me sane in a way nothing else will.

And that’s the reason I smile at other runners. I’m sure they’re doing the same thing too.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Sanity Run at fluorescent.

meta

